Best Work, Portfolio Review 2021, Time Based

“Arin’s Anxiety” – Animation Process

Objective: Create an animation using a media of choice that demonstrates anticipation, arc, overshoot, and secondary animation.

Prompt: “Anxiety, Anyone?”

Overall, I would consider this piece a success. I very much enjoy “bouncy” animation and this was a great opportunity to play around with that while thinking about how to use the advanced principles. In particular, I was inspired by how in older cartoons an impact or action can resonate and rebound through a character’s entire body. Another detail I worked in is that the animation can loop seamlessly; I consider this symbolic of trying to control one’s anxiety in a public setting but not being able to calm down for long enough. I also had some fun with the sound design, as I’ve never really tried to create ambience for an animation before.
The only bump in the road I encountered was that I, for a reason I honestly can’t remember, did the animation in a vertical format when it was required to be horizontal. Thinking fast, I made up some backgrounds to put behind what I had at that point. I think it turned out fine, but I need to promise myself not to make another mistake like that.

Character design reference: Our pal Arin’s back in the spotlight again, this time we get a look at what he was like before all the magic shenanigans started.
The Storyboard
Line art test using an online .gif maker.
Final Animation

Leave a comment