Best Work, Portfolio Review 2021, Time Based

“[ Lightverse ] – Castor’s Vision” Animation Process

Prompt – Your Choice (I chose “Nightmare”)

Goal: Utilize everything I’ve learned this semester and use it to create a 30-second narrative animation.

To say a lot of time went into this project is an understatement. However, I haven’t had this much fun and motivation towards a pure animation assignment in a while. Since it was the last project of the semester I wanted to knock it out of the park. I enjoyed using After Effects to add onto my normal style of animation, I definitely plan to use it in the future as well.

Reference image of Castor: the main character of this film.
Page from the storyboard, showing the scene where the camera angle follows Castor’s movements.
Line art test of Castor’s walk cycle in Scene 2
Creature walk cycle
Scene 8 Test

Leave a comment